THAT MOMENT

Everyone dream about that one special moment. That moment that you just know everything changed. The life changing moment that you will still remember when you are old, and tells your grandchildren about.

But when do you know you are having your moment? How do you distinguish that the moment you are having will be that moment for you. I mean, there are so many times that I feel this is it, this is the moment everything in my life is about to change, but after a while I just know it wasn’t it. For some it’s just another disappointment lurking around a corner in this world. So many opportunities arise, but how do you know it is not a feeling you created in yourself, telling yourself, this is what you want. We also want this moment to be a good memory, but I think for some of us, this moment can become the worst of all our memories to come.

Some of you will be thinking that I am talking about love, and other will be thinking it’s about work opportunities. Then there will be those of you that think a bit deeper and see it in a spiritual way. To be honest with you, it can be any of those.

Sometimes when you wake up in the morning you get that feeling of emptiness. That feeling that you need something more in life than what is currently in and around you. It is more a feeling of lacking purpose, lacking the moment that tells you who and what you are. So in a desperate search of this moment one sets of into another day, hoping, longing that it will be that day. The day you can live in that specific moment, the moment you would cherish for the rest of your life.

Today Sunday, 14 February 2016, Valentine’s Day, as I sit here the thought is crossing my mind that someone out there had their moment today. I also thought that exact thought, on this very same day, sixteen years ago. It was supposed to be my moment that changed my life. I was so sure it was. Still thinking about that specific day even today, let me think that it did change my life. That moment changed my life in a way I never expected it to. For so many years the sorrow caused by that one moment would never have been if it was not for the moment. You would tell me that I’ve learned something out of that moment and what followed thereafter, but I wonder if that moment never happened, what my life would have been like. Yes it gave me allot to write about. Yes it may have helped me becoming the man I am today, but what if it never happened? Could I have been a better man now? I can only think about this, write about it, but never will the answers be given to me.

As I walked into a book shop today, just browsing around reading the back cover of a few new novels, the shop assistant told me that I should be busy writing and not reading today. I replied that I’d rather not put pen to paper today, because it would be the gloomiest things ever I can write. So and here I am 18:00, the very same day writing this.

Everyone dream about that one special moment. That moment that you just know everything changed. The life changing moment that you will still remember when you are old, and tells your grandchildren about.

Yes, I think that moment I had, will be one of those moments…

 

Leave a Reply

